header image
matt bruce in his studio

Matt Bruce Memorial Award 

Matt was an active member of the RI and regularly exhibited at their spring exhibition at the Mall Galleries in London, where his exceptional portrayal of light and colour was displayed to optimum effect.

As a tribute to the man and his much admired impressionist-style paintings, his son Gordon established the Matt Bruce Memorial Award in 2002. Based around the RI’s annual spring show, it is presented to the artist judged to have made ‘the most outstanding use of light and colour in a watercolour’ – ie best echoed the abilities for which Matt Bruce himself was renowned.

The winners to date are:

2002 Bill Toop RI
2003 David Morris
2004 Robert King RI
2005 Catherine Brennand RI
2006 Janet Duncan
2007 Chris Forsey
2008 Robert King RI
2009 Chris Myers
2010 Jonathan Taylor
2011 Brian Smith
2012 Jonathan Taylor
2013 Not awarded
2014 Peter Jarvis
2015 Matthew Phinn
2016 Chien Chung-Wei
2017 Geoff Butterworth
2018 David A Parfitt RI

The 2018 Award was presented to David A Parfitt RI for 'Wetland Winter' (below)

David Parfitt

gardens picture

landscape picture

  All information and images on this web site © Copyright 2009 Gordon Bruce Associates Limited.